Debi Mazar interviews Lourdes

Jark

User
in Interview magazine.

full of frankly iconic quotes, including but not limited to

I don’t know how I feel about acting yet. I think it’s about finding a role that wouldn’t be too far off from who I am already. Honestly, actors really annoy me and I can’t be around them. :DAs for music, I can sing. I just don’t care about it. Maybe it’s too close to home.
“Bitch, don’t talk about my mom if you don’t want me to talk about your mom. You want to call my mom a whore? Okay, your mom is a whore.” If you feel like you have the right to comment on my mother, then I’m going to do the same to you.
Ethridge_210908_InterviewLourdes_Shot-8_114_03_RGB-1024x1536.jpg
My mom is such a control freak, and she has controlled me my whole life. I needed to be completely independent from her as soon as I graduated high school.
I hate TikTok people. It’s something I can’t explain. Maybe there’s something I’m not fully understanding about it.
I’ve always been a big house and techno person, ever since I was young.
MAZAR: That’s because your mother was dancing to it while you were in the womb.
LEON: Probably. Wasn’t she making that kind of music at that time? :disco:
it's a great read, although she sounds like a bit of a NIGHTMARE!

My experience with my mom’s music has changed so much as I’ve gotten older, because I’m increasingly able to recognize how influential and amazing this woman is, and how empowering to other women and ahead of her time she has always been. I didn’t fully comprehend that until I realized the importance of empowerment and what it means to be a woman. She’s probably the hardest worker I’ve ever seen. I didn’t inherit that, unfortunately. I inherited her control issues, but not her work ethic.

Stan, Lola, Stan

I'd like to hear more about how Debi has made 40 years of friendship with Madge work! There can't be many that have made it that far.